THE SIGNAL BOX

PHOTO GALLERY

Cockermouth, Keswick & Penrith Railway

PENRUDDOCK

Opened: 1896

Closed: 1967

Location code: LM130/11

Penruddock signal boxBuilt in 1896 when the the line from Troutbeck was doubled, Penruddock demonstrates how minor variations existed between different boxes on this line. Although of basically similar design to Threlkeld (not that there are many window frames to compare!), the box has a unique half-gabled, half-hipped roof arrangement.

An 18-lever Tweedy & Co frame controlled the layout here until all remaining boxes on the line closed on 3rd December 1967. The box survived, derelict, for a few years, but was demolished in the late 1970s.



Buy prints of photographs
at 433shop
Click here

All photographs copyright © John Hinson unless otherwise stated